Finalists Announced at the Sibelius Violin Competition

Five VC Artists and Young Artists were chosen as finalists for the international competition

VC Young Artist Dmytro Udovychenko (Photo credit: Heikki Tuuli)


Six candidates have progressed to the final round of the Jean Sibelius International Violin Competition, which is taking place this week. Picked from the 18 semi-finalists, the finalists will perform between May 27 and 29.

They include:

  • VC Young Artist Diana Adamyan (Armenia)
  • VC Young Artist Yesong Sophie Lee (US)
  • VC Young Artist Nathan Meltzer (US)
  • Georgii Moroz (Ukraine)
  • VC Young Artist Dmytro Udovychenko (Ukraine)
  • VC Artist Inmo Yang (Korea)

In the finals, the competitors will perform as soloists with The Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra led by Anna-Maria Helsing and The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra led by Dima Slobodeniouk. They will perform two violin concertos, one by Jean Sibelius and one of the performer's choice.

The competition culminates in the winner announcement and award ceremony on Sunday evening, May 29. The final round and award ceremony will be available worldwide at Yle Areena. The bilingual (Finnish and Swedish) broadcasts of the final rounds will be presented by Yle Radio 1 and on TV by Yle Teema Fem.

The first prize winner will receive €30,000; a number of important international solo engagements; plus a loan of a fine violin by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini from Turin dated 1772, kindly loaned by Jane Ng through J & A Beare and the Beare’s International Violin Society.

The 2022 jury is comprised of Sakari Oramo (Chairman), Ilya Kaler, Ida Kavafian, Nam Yun Kim, Henning Kraggerud, Lucie Robert, Daniel Rowland, Elina Vähälä, and Tong Weidong.

You can view each round of the competition either live or on-demand here.