• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Freedman Classical Fellowship Announces 2021 Finalists

The $21,000 prize will be awarded on Friday, November 19


Conceived by Laurence Freedman and Dr. Richard Letts, the Freedman Classical Fellowship is annually awarded to Australian classical musicians under 30.

Nominees must submit recordings of their musical performances and describe their career-building project(s) which they will carry out with the support of the prize.

The Music Trust’s Freedman Classical Fellowship 2021 finalists are:

  • Double bassist Will Hansen, 24

  • Violist Molly Collier-O’Boyle, 27

  • Violinist Kyla Matsuura-Miller, 28

  • Flutist Eliza Shephard, 28

The finalists were selected from a pool of 16 candidates who were nominated by leading classical musicians from around Australia.

The 2021 judges panel comprised of Penny Lomax, Tamara Cislowska, and Veronique Serret.

"We all agreed it is inspiring to see such creatively diverse and ambitious projects," said judge Penny Lomax, "particularly as they were derived during the enormous difficulties posed by the COVD-19 pandemic. This has not appeared to dim the resourcefulness and originality of the participants. With this generation, Australia's musical future is in great hands!"

upcoming events

june 2024

17junAll Day22Primrose International Viola Competition(All Day) Colburn School, 200 S Grand AveEvent Type :competitions Event TagsPrimrose International Viola Competition,Primrose Viola CompetitionFOLLOW

july 2024

16julAll Day27Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello & Baroque Cello Competition(All Day) Thomaskirche Leipzig, Thomaskirchhof, Thomaskirchhof 18, 04109 Leipzig, GermanyEvent Type :competitions Event TagsBaroque Cello Competition,Cello Competition,Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello CompetitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right