THROWBACK THURSDAY | Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition's 2012 Silver Medal

The 2022 edition of the competition will soon take place between May 20 and May 22, in Notre Dame, Indiana

(Photo credit: Lauren Desberg)


Ten years ago, the then Trio mod3tre was a newly formed ensemble out of the New England Conservatory. Following their performance of Beethoven’s Trio in B-flat Major, Op. 11, Movement II, Adagio con espressione at the 2012 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, the group took home the Senior String Division Silver medal.

Today, the ensemble is named the Namirovsky-Lark-Pae Trio. Comprised of violinist Tessa Lark, cellist Deborah Pae, and pianist Misha Namirovsky, the group was most recently given the 2020 German Record Critics' Award in the category of chamber music for their debut album Masterpieces Among Peers: Trios by Frank Bridge and Johannes Brahms.



Since its founding in 1973, more than 7,400 musicians have participated in the annual Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, including former Grand Prize recipients VC Artists Calidore QuartetUlysses, and the Dover Quartet.

The 49th edition just recently announced its 2022 quarterfinalists.

To be held between May 20 and May 22 in Notre Dame, Indiana, the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition this year announced the new "Lift Every Voice Prize" —which aims "to amplify and celebrate outstanding works by historically underrepresented voices within the chamber music world."

The Violin Channel recently discussed the upcoming competition with its executive director, Kara Kane.