• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Six Finalists Announced at Poland's Wieniawski Violin Competition

The Final Round will be held at the Adam Mickiewicz University Auditorium in Poznan from October 18-20, 2022 and streaming LIVE on The Violin Channel


The 2022 Wieniawski International Violin Competition's finalists are, in alphabetical order:

Hana Chang (Japonia / Singapore / USA)

Jane Hyeonjin Cho (South Korea)

Meruert Karmenova (Kazakhstan)

Hina Maeda (Japan)

Qingzhu Weng (China)

Dayoon You (South Korea)


For the final round, each of the candidates will perform either Wieniawski's 1st or 2nd Violin Concerti, in addition to either the Beethoven, Brahms, Dvorak, or Mendelssohn Violin Concerti.

Open to international violinists of any nationality, born between 1991 and 2005, this year's first prize winner will receive EUR 50,000.

This year's jury comprises Augustin Dumay (Chairperson), Daniel Stabrawa (Vice-Chair), Agnieszka Duczmal, Barnabás Kelemen, René Koering, Grzegorz Kotów, Bartłomiej Nizioł, Mariusz Patyra, Miguel da Silva, Jian Wang, and Christopher Warren-Green. 

"We are fundamentally looking for our laureates to respect the heritage of these incredible master works, yet bring enormous amount of imagination and individuality to them," Augustin Dumay, Chairman of the Jury, this week told The Violin Channel.

Organized by Henryk Wieniawski Musical Society of Poznań in collaboration with the National Institute of Music and Dance, the event is co-funded by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, with financial assistance from the Municipality of Poznań and Self-Government of the Province of Wielkopolska.

“Our Institute fosters the development of artists, as well as promotes the legacy of Polish music," commented Katarzyna Meissner, Director of the National Institute of Music and Dance. "Occasions like these provide splendid opportunities to show the world what is best in Polish culture. Hence, it is with pride that we make our contribution to the organization of such an excellent event, one that has already become part of Polish history."

Previous prize winners include David & Igor Oikstrahk, Ida Haendel, Julian Sitkovetsky, and  Alena Baeva — plus VC Artist Bomsori Kim, Seiji Okamoto, and Veriko Tchumburidze.

upcoming events

june 2024

17junAll Day22Primrose International Viola Competition(All Day) Colburn School, 200 S Grand AveEvent Type :competitions Event TagsPrimrose International Viola Competition,Primrose Viola CompetitionFOLLOW

july 2024

16julAll Day27Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello & Baroque Cello Competition(All Day) Thomaskirche Leipzig, Thomaskirchhof, Thomaskirchhof 18, 04109 Leipzig, GermanyEvent Type :competitions Event TagsBaroque Cello Competition,Cello Competition,Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello CompetitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right