Candidates Announced for France's Mirecourt International Violin Competition

Mirecourt International Violin Competition Candidates Cover

The opening round of the Mirecourt International Violin Competition, in Lorraine, France will commence today.

This year's 28 candidates are:

Pierre-Jose Alvarez, Anne Bella, Yoan Brakha, Hector Burgan, Laure Chan, Shan-Hsin Chang, Tristan Chenevez, Elena Kyoko Cotrone, Camille Fonteneau, Magdalena Geka, Mayuka Kato, Kana Kawashima, Leon Keuffer, Floor Le Coultre, Juliette Leroux, Clemence Merou, Nathan Mierdl, Fiona Monbet, Anna Paliwoda, Romaine Queyras, Jian Ren, Quentin Reymond, Fiona Robertson, Olivier Robin, Gaelle Spieser, Nicholas Sublet, Giovanna Thibaut and Yi-Chia Emily.

For the opening round, each competitor will present two contrasting movements from a Bach Solo Sonata or Partita, one Paganini Caprice and one Solo Sonata by Ysaye.

This year's jury is: Pavel Vernikov from Russia (Jury President), Radu Blidar from Romania, Mirianne Piketty from France, Nora Chastin from the United States and James Buswell from the United States.

The final will be held on November 16th - with the 1st prize winner to receive 5000 Euro (US $6500)

The Violin Channel will keep you abreast of the results as the rounds progress.